Attended an International Party, witnessed a Scandinavian war of words

Last night I went to an Erasmus party which is basically like a study abroad party for international students but code for lame if you actually live in Berlin. They gave out stickers for your country and I asked for one that said California but they only had USA. Then I told them I was from Poland and wore that the rest of the night.

Met girls from NJ and told them that my Mom went to a nearby high school. Not in Poland. On the train home a guy from Finland was talking to some girls sitting next to me and all of a sudden guys behind me begin making fun of Finnish bro. They say, “Oh lets go play some hockey!!” and then laugh, and then Scandinavian yelling ensued. I watched in amazement and wondered what language they were speaking.

I woke up and watched World Series game 6 highlights for the 3rd time and almost shed a tear watching David Freese get those clutch hits. American hero. He grew up right outside St. Louis as a Cardinals fan.

Oh I also won tickets to a Twin Sister show at Berghain because I tweeted at Berlin.unlike.com, but I didn’t go because it was far away.

About Andy Verderosa

Andy is a writer and copywriter in New York. Follow him at @andyverderosa.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

